TORONTO, May 15, 2018 – Mental Health Research Canada (MHRC) is pleased to announce its newly appointed Board of Directors. On May 14th, MHRC celebrated its inaugural Annual General Meeting on May 14 in Toronto, ON. As a funding agency, MHRC supports innovative, priority-driven research in mental health conducted by emerging and established researchers.

‘Our Board represents communities across the country,” said Chief Executive Officer Andrea Swinton. “Their passion and enthusiasm for mental health research is contagious.”

This year, MHRC is funding ten researchers at six Canadian universities and teaching hospitals. This diverse group is made up of PhD candidates and established researchers, pursuing urgent in fields including maternal mental health and schizophrenia.

John Trainor, Chair of the Board of Directors said, “this organization is poised to make a difference and the possibilities are exciting. We are ready to rise to the challenge and work towards improving the lives of Canadians.”

MHRC’s Board of Directors (2018-2019)

John Trainor (Chair), Ontario

Sean Sampson (Treasurer), BC/Ontario

Gregory Brown (Secretary), Ontario

Nader Dabbo, Ontario

David Dozois, Ontario

W.C. (Bill) Fordy, Ontario

Danielle Kemmer, Quebec

Barry MacDougall, Ontario

Ken Ross, New Brunswick

Brian S. Storseth, Alberta

Heather Stuart, Ontario

Jijian Voronka, Ontario

In Crisis?

Please call 1-833-456-4566,
text 45645, or visit

Connect with us