MENTAL HEALTH RESEARCH CANADA Announces Board of Directors

TORONTO, May 15, 2018 – Mental Health Research Canada (MHRC) is pleased to announce its newly appointed Board of Directors, following its inaugural Annual General Meeting on May 14 in Toronto. MHRC supports innovative research in mental health by engaging with a diverse community of stakeholders and all levels of government to identify and develop the most urgent mental health research questions.

“Our Board represents communities across the country,” said Chief Executive Officer Andrea Swinton. “Our members’ passion for mental health research is contagious.”

This year, MHRC is funding 10 researchers at six Canadian universities and teaching hospitals. This diverse group is made up of PhD candidates and established researchers, pursuing urgent fields including maternal mental health and schizophrenia.

“This organization is poised to make a difference and the possibilities are exciting,” said John Trainor, Chair of the Board of Directors. “We are ready to rise to the challenge and work toward improving the lives of Canadians.”

MHRC’s Board of Directors (2018-2019)

John Trainor (Chair), Ontario

Sean Sampson (Treasurer), BC/Ontario

Gregory Brown (Secretary), Ontario

Nader Dabbo, Ontario

David Dozois, Ontario

W.C. (Bill) Fordy, Ontario

Danielle Kemmer, Quebec

Barry MacDougall, Ontario

Ken Ross, New Brunswick

Brian S. Storseth, Alberta

Heather Stuart, Ontario

Jijian Voronka, Ontario

In Crisis?

Please call 1-833-456-4566,
text 45645, or visit

Connect with us